Unglued?

Have you ever been so overwhelmed, you just don’t quite know what to do, or which family member is going to trigger that “unglued” moment?  I’m certainly not proud of it, but sometimes I let my emotions get the better of me. 

I’m doing a Bible study with some other Moms at Ally’s school called “Unglued” — the website is here: Unglued.  I think it’s a perfect time of year to be going through this study as March 15th (a huge deadline for accountants or people like me in the pension/retirement world) is right around the corner.  So instead of running those numbers, I’m trying to write my first entry to my sisters on this blog.  🙂

Lysa Terkeurst, the author, has such a witty and honest way of going through common scenarios in life.  I certainly cannot recreate her humor, but I have a lot of takeaways that I am praying I’ll put into action.  Here are some awesome reminders that I’m hoping will help me limit those “unglued” moments:

  • There’s a big difference between replying/responding and reacting.  3 rules for replying in a tense situation:
    1. Begin reply by honoring the other person.  You don’t need to honor their words, but you can honor the person.
    2. Keep response short & full of grace.  (Otherwise it’s too easy to be defensive.)
    3. End by extending compassion.  (Don’t fake it!)
  • Whose side am I on anyway?  (God’s side!)
  • Remember: who is the real enemy? 
  • I am a work in progress, and God is full of grace!
  • Doesn’t my family deserve that grace from me, too?
  • When we’re feeling unglued, we may want to have a plan in place (like King Jehoshaphat in 2 Chronicles 20).  We need to be “resolved”.  To remember who we are, redirect our focus, recognize God’s job isn’t ours, praise & thank God, and realize that reactions (good or bad) can have a shockwave type effect.  (That’s a bit scary when you think of your kids and grandkids being affected by your every day decisions.)

Each time I go through another set of questions, I am so grateful for all the grace my family has given me.  Love you!

One response

Leave a Reply

