Scrapbooking and Iris Folding

As you may know, I love to scrapbook and make cards.  Occasionally, I go to an Archivers Scrap Night with some co-workers (Karen and Sharon).  Often, we’re joined by Leanne, a long-time friend of Karen’s.  It is great fun!  And it’s probably one of the few nights I ever stay up until midnight!

My main goal of the night was to make cards, so here are a few of them:

 

DSCN3734

I really enjoy using some embossing (using embossing folders rather than powder) on cards when I can.  One of my favorite ones is a cupcake with a candle.  This is perfect for a birthday card!

 

DSCN3735

After making about 14 cards, I thought it was time for scrapbook pages.  You can tell I’m really behind (as they’re from when Ally was about 1 1/2 years of age), but here they are:

DSCN3731DSCN3732

While I was there, Leanne was making one of the most beautiful cards I’ve seen.  It’s using a technique called “Iris Folding”.  I love it!  I didn’t quite have enough time to work on it there, so the next day, I gave it a try.

First, I googled to find a pattern.  (This is a necessity for a beginner!)  I found a wonderful little onesie pattern which I thought would be perfect for a baby card. Before I could begin, I printed off 2 copies of the pattern, traced one and cut it out (using an X-acto knife), and taped the 2nd pattern behind it.  I picked out 4 coordinating papers, cut 3/4 inch strips (although I learned it would be better to do 1 inch strips), and laid them out.

DSCN3726

Then, I scored each one in half, and I was really ready to begin.  🙂  I taped portions of the paper (with the fold facing to the inside), on numbers 1-3.  It then looks as follows:

DSCN3727

When I was all done, it looks like this.  Pretty, right?  😉

 

 

DSCN3728

Okay, that was the back side.  Now to flip it over for the front:

DSCN3730I LOVE IT!  That was fun to do!  Time-consuming, yes, but fun!  I can’t wait to add an embellishment or two and use the card!  I have another pattern which I might try to get done yet today.  If you like to try something new or want to make a card really special/unique, I highly recommend giving this a try!

~D~

One response

Leave a Reply

