Winter again?!

Well its April and Winter has come back for one last “ah ha!”  Remember earlier when I had said that my hubby cleaned out the garage all by himself?  Well when he did this we re-arranged a bit.  We put the snow-blower in the way back and moved the lawn mower to the front.  That was a bad choice apparently.

Blowing off the driveway - one more time!

Blowing off the driveway – one more time!

We had a pretty good storm.  First lots of rain, which clung to everything.  It didn’t take long for the trees, roads and mailboxes to be covered in ice.  Then it started to snow.  Everything was actually quite pretty.  But then you could start to hear the trees creaking under the weight.  It was a little eerie.  As I was coming home from work I saw the powerlines bouncing around wildly under the weight of the ice and blowing wind.  I actually saw them hit eachother, causing a huge BRIGHT blue fire ball with lots of sparks.  I’ve never seen that before.  The wind didn’t stop, and the power lines kept hitting each other, causing more sparks and more bright blue balls.  It was a little scary.

Ice on our truck; notice it hanging off the hood?  This is after about an hour in the garage.

Ice on our truck; notice it hanging off the hood? And you can see it on the bumper; yes, thats ice. This is after about an hour in the garage.

No the truck isn't dirty.  Drew drove to the hog building and back and this is how it looked when he got home.

No the truck isn’t dirty. Drew drove to the hog building and back and this is how it looked when he got home.

I started writing this without electricity.  Good thing my laptop battery was charged!  I got home from work the other day and we had no power in the house.  Of course my hubby had to go out and check on our hog building (which didn’t have power, either) so I was at home by myself.  I wasn’t quite sure what to do with myself.  I was starting to get hungry and was trying to think of what I could possibly eat for supper.  Its funny how I thought of quite a few good ideas but couldn’t carry any of them out without electricity.

The tree in our back yard, less a few limbs.

The tree in our back yard, less a few limbs.

The lights came back on soon.  With all the ice we were getting I wasn’t getting my hopes up.  I plugged in everything that I could think of… laptops, ipads, cell phones…  I even turned our furnace way up just in case!  Sure enough, power went back out about 10 minutes later.  This time I was thinking a little more clearly.  I went in search of a flashlight, and to my surprise it actually worked!

The neighbor's tree nearly split in half.  You can see it between the two houses, thankfully missing both.

The neighbor’s tree nearly split in half falling between the two houses, thankfully missing both.

Anyway as I was thinking of all these things I thought I should go find some candles too… but I don’t even have any!  I probably have some old ones from my wedding somewhere… but then the power came back on!  I had to act fast.  I put a bag of microwave popcorn in the microwave; the power went back out just before it finished.

My bowl of popcorn.  I sat here in the half-light by the windows while I tried to decide what to do.

My bowl of popcorn. I sat here in the half-light by the windows while I tried to decide what to do.

As I sat in the dark I started to reminisce about the “good ‘ol days.”  Whenever the power would go out Mom would put a big candle on the dining room table, and another in the bathroom.  I also remember one time when the power went out for a long time… when I was young.  We lit the gas stove in the old kitchen and locked ourselves up in there.  We played cards by candle light to pass the time.  It was the only warm room in the house.  I was still cold, so our wonderful brother offered me some long-johns… but they were in his room.  We ran out of the kitchen as fast as I could, grabbed more layers, and ran back in.  I’m pretty sure I wore his three-sizes-too-big long johns for days.  All us kids slept on the basement floor just outside the old kitchen.  It was kinda fun… a slumber party with all my big brother and sisters and no school!  Thats about all that I remember.  The long johns will never be forgotten.

My kitties watching me finish this post.

My kitties watching me finish this post.  They really enjoy watching the mouse on the screen.

Anyway the power ended up coming back on a few hours later for a while.  I did manage to have a warm supper before going to bed.  Since then the electricity has been a little unreliable.  I’ve been taking really fast showers and the laundry is piling up, as well as our dishes.  But my husband and I are safe, our house has been staying warm, and no damage from falling limbs, so here’s me, counting my blessings.

~ T ~

One response

Leave a Reply

