Wraps and Granola

I’ve had a few new ideas for foods to try, but none of them are very “spring-y” or “summer-y.”  Sometimes during this time of year its nice to have some lighter foods instead of casseroles and filling breads and buns.  I’ve fallen in love with some breaded chicken strips that I found at our local grocery store.  They’re a little bit spicy (and a little bit expensive) but SO GOOD.  We decided to mix it up a little bit and make a chicken wrap out of it.

We actually cook our chicken strips on the pizzaz – makes for excellent crispy chicken strips in 20 minutes.  We cut up the strips and threw some cheese and lettuce together on a taco shell.  Drew was getting a little creative and added some fried bacon.   I was digging through my fridge and remembered that I’ve wanted to try a recipe for quite some time: Honey Mustard Dressing.  I got it from Genvieve at one of my wedding showers and haven’t ever tried it!  The wraps were pretty delicious.  Next time I think I’ll do a little less honey – it was a little too sweet for my taste.

IMG_0116

I also bought myself some yogurt and fruit to make some sort of a parfait.  I thought I had granola at home, but of course was expired.  Like WAY expired.  Apparently I haven’t eaten that in a while!  I have a friend that is quite the blogger and quite the cook.  She loves to try new things – and luckily enough not that long ago she made her own granola.  So I thought I’d give it a shot!  Her recipe is here.  I sort of like it – and I like that I can really make whatever flavor I want.  Next time I think I’ll do less cinnamon and maybe some brown sugar instead :).

Home-made granola fresh out of the oven!

Home-made granola fresh out of the oven!

Enjoy!

~ T ~

Honey Mustard Dressing (from Genvieve)

1/4 cup vinegar
1 cup mayonaise
1 tsp mustard
1 tsp sugar
1/2 cup honey
1/2 tsp salt
dash of pepper
1/2 cup oil
1 tsp chopped onion
pinch of parsley

Mix mayo, mustard & honey until smooth.  Add the rest of the ingredients. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Leave a Reply

