A fancy pillow (sort of)

Dear sisters,

I’ve been looking around pinterest for some DIY sewing ideas and found one that really intrigued me.  It was a pretty fancy looking pillow, but I decided after reading the directions that it couldn’t be too hard.  I kept it in mind for a future project. (See the tutorial here.)

All done!

All done! The fabric is actually an off-white sort of color.  I think it looks pretty nice on our dark brown couch.

Some time later I stumbled upon some really cool cording on clearance at Walmart (yes, walmart).  I thought it would look really cool on the pillow idea, so I bought myself some fabric for the pillow, too. In the end, I decided that I probably won’t do another one of these for a while.  The fabric frayed a lot and pulled … and I had to use a LOT of pins to get the gathers to stay put while I sewed it down.

Working on the gathered part on front of the pillow.

Working on the gathered part on front of the pillow.

So it turns out that I really have no idea what I’m doing with the cord around the edges.  I sewed it in but I couldn’t get very close; I ended up sewing around the whole pillow by hand to get the seam tight against the cord.  Ugh!  But the finished product looks pretty cool.

The back of the pillow.  Its a slip cover but it doesn't fit very well, making a little part of the pillow show through the opening.

The back of the pillow. Its a slip cover but it doesn’t fit very well, making a little part of the pillow show through the opening.

I did also try to make this a slip cover – without reading any sort of instruction on how to do it.  After I sewed the cord in by hand the slip cover ended up a little small, and so it doesn’t fit super well anymore.  Oh well.  I like to think it was a valiant effort on my part, and still looks kinda neat.  Plus I learned quite a few things about which fabrics NOT to use, and that sewing in cord is way harder than it looks!  (Or I just don’t know what I’m doing :D).  So not one of my best projects, but definitely a learning experience.

~T~

One response

Leave a Reply

