Today’s Favorite Moment

Being a Mom has so many special moments that I hope I never forget.  Today was no exception.  It was an ordinary day.  As part of an idea organized by a Mom at school, my 2nd grader & I have 2 weeks where we committed to praying daily for her teacher, hoping to provide some encouragement and support.  (I have a feeling this may be more of a blessing to me….)

We were discussing the idea of choosing a Bible verse to pray over her teacher.  My daughter immediately jumped up to grab her Bible.  She opened it to the Index and started running her finger down the page to find the book of John.  Her favorite verse is John 3:16.  As she was going through the books of the Bible, she started singing a song listing the books of the Bible that she must be learning in school.  (She loves to sing!)

With a little guidance, she found the page number the book of John started on, and started flipping through the Bible.  Finding John 3:16, she began reading aloud.

There are few things more precious than listening to my 8-year old read her favorite verse, continuing on through the next several verses before pausing.

As she paused, I looked over at her with such warmth in my heart, and said, “Honey, you have no idea how much I love hearing you read the Bible.”  Her adorable response: “I love reading the Bible!”

What a blessing!!  How my heart sings!

Leave a Reply

